Midsummer…Summer…Summer….

Now, if you are anywhere near my age, and listened to The Cars when you were in your teens, you might get that little play on the title there…If not…well, you might have some research to do. Hint: Magic.

Some people say the Beach Boys remind them of summer, others might think Black-Eyed Peas or Alice in Chains. I think it all depends on your musical tastes and what you enjoy listening to when you’re outside barb-b-queing or laying on the sand, frying at your favorite beach. For me, it’s different periods of my life that are linked to certain music and what summer it reminds me of. Point in case, Neil Diamond reminds me of my childhood summers. We lived down the street from this family who my parents were best friends with (they were probably a good ten years younger than my parents) but the act of just burning trash in built in fire pit in the backyard at either house, often evolved into a block party. To this day I can’t hear Sweet Caroline or I Am I Said, without feeling a bit nostalgic for hot, Michigan days and cool nights. Of grilling hotdogs with a metal stick over the open flames and playing with sparklers when it wasn’t even the Fourth of July.

Ah, those carefree days are long gone. The knowledge of knowing you had absolutely nothing to do but what your imagination might conjure kept you going for that three month period and straight into Labor Day. Damn, we had it good as kids.

In high school, I started putting my summers to better use and worked at an amusement park. What a great first job for teenager. There were some days I couldn’t wait to get to work. All my friends worked they and it was so much fun…I think everyone should enjoy their job that much. Rock music played all through the park, piped in from the owner’s office overlooking the midway. Generally the day kicked off with Rush’s Spirit of the Radio or the Motels Only the Lonely. To this day the smell of fair food mixed with the calliope of a merry-go-round takes me back to those sweet days. Every summer the workers of the two amusement parks that used to be in my hometown get together for what they call the Non-reunion Reunion. I only learned about it last year. Much to my surprise my old friends of Panama City Beach had been trying to locate me for a long time. It took the modern miracle of Facebook for them to finally catch up with me. And though I will not be able to attend the reunion, I am very glad they found me.

During college, my summers were chiefly spent at the beach (when you can roll out of bed and hit the Gulf of Mexico, this is not that much of a hardship) and waiting tables. Life was good. I was young and wild and free …so the song goes…and enjoyed every moment of squeezing out life in any way I could. Life seemed an endless summer back then…*sigh*

It’s been a long time since summer has represented more for me than the opportunity to drive to work unfettered by the horrible Jersey snowstorm. Something happens when we pass from carefree youth to responsible adult: the summers seem to get shorter, the opportunities for fun fewer. You become so bogged down in the everyday that before  you know it, autumn has come and you still haven’t gotten together with your closest friends to have that cookout you discussed two years ago Christmas. And the music…it all starts sounding the same…

To that I saw…Take back the season!!!

You’ve worked long and hard to get where you are…why not reap the rewards of a life well-lived? Why wallow in complacency when you can bask in sunshine of renewal. Midsummer isn’t just a time of year when the day is longest…it is the day of greatest power. Take of your shoes and run through the grass barefoot. Catch fireflies in a jar or watch them dance like tiny fairies over your yard. Hang some Chinese lanterns in your yard and grill out after dark and listen to the night birds. Run through a sprinkler or douse your mate with a garden hose. Do all those things you loved as a child, but thought you were too old to enjoy as an adult.

You are never too old to enjoy the summer. This year…make your own music.

-MK Mancos/Kathleen Scott

31 thoughts on “Midsummer…Summer…Summer….

  1. pippajay says:

    Lovely thought!

  2. imogenenix says:

    Summers in Australia as a kid, long, hot and with Christmas in the middle. Bliss. BBQ, fishing & playing in the backyard.

    Thanks for reminding me of what came before.

    Imogene

  3. I love all the thought of things to do this Midsummer.

  4. Arlene Webb says:

    Any season is to be treasured, and thanks for reminding how much fun summer can be. Great post.

  5. D L Jackson says:

    Neal Diamond. Oh, yes. I’m there with you. The things his songs recall. Great post, thanks for sharing.

  6. I used to lover summer more when it ended. LOL! Here in Texas, its dang near almost never ending! Supposed to be 100 degrees next week and a possible hurricane in the Gulf. Which reminds me, must get chocolate….

  7. Artemis says:

    Very beautiful post! This year…make your own music, I love that. Thank you for the giveaways and hop!

  8. katsrus says:

    I love being able to get out in the summertime when it’s not too hot. Even just to sit on the deck, read a book, and enjoy my flower garden is a joy.
    Sue B
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

  9. raelori says:

    Now I have magic in my head and am smiling! I love the idea of taking back summer. Sometimes things get too crazy in our adult lives that a harkening back to childhood is needed. I so miss those carefree days but I will take you up on that and relive them!

    Have a great summer Kathleen!

  10. Jessica Subject says:

    I love sitting beneath the stars on a clear summer night. Great post1

    jessicasubject.writer at gmail dot com

  11. VanillaOrchids says:

    Very nice post! I do enjoy watching fireflies. And as for music, the song Summertime by Will Smith is a song I expect to hear on the radio every year. LOL

    Pam
    vanillaorchids69(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. Yeah!! I wish i could act silly and young again. thanks for the story and being part of the hop. Joannie jscddmj@aol.com

  13. Summers in late 50’s/early 60’s New York City – hot and humid – and no air conditioning! We would play until sunset with our Moms sitting on benches nearby and gossiping. Good Humor ice cream – Mr. Softee cones, and as for the music: Summer in the City by the Lovin’ Spoonful said it all.

  14. Susan W. says:

    There are definitely songs that bring back memories of summers from growing up. Everytime I hear Crocodile Rock by Elton John I think of the summer my cousin spent with me. We were constantly sneaking out on the roof to watch the stars at night. And hoping not to get caught! Thanks for the giveaway!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  15. If I could hit the “like” button twice I would have. 🙂

  16. Shadow says:

    Great post! Summer! So many fun, great things to do! I love this time of year! Visiting family, walking at night or looking at the stars, having cookouts, playing in the rain, just enjoying everything! 😉 Thanks for sharing and for the fun hop!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. Now isn’t that just the truth. Sounds like great advice to me.

  18. bookattict says:

    Thanks for the fantastic post!

    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  19. Kimber Shook says:

    Awesome post!

  20. T.K. Anthony says:

    Lightning bugs (I still call them that, even though I am a “Firefly” fan) are one of my very favorite things about summer.

  21. AnnaM says:

    You’ve made me homesick. I grew up in MI and can relate to your post.
    Have a great night!
    AnnaM
    doxisrcool at aol dot com

  22. AnnaM says:

    You’ve made me homesick. I grew up in MI and can relate to your post.
    Have a great night!
    AnnaM
    doxisrcool at aol dot com

  23. Diane Dooley says:

    Planning on doing lots of childish things this summer. Thanks for the lovely post!

  24. Love your memories of summer. Mine are some of my fondest, too. Thanks for sharing!

    Cheryl
    cheryl(at)cherylcorbin(dot)com

  25. bn100 says:

    Nice post.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  26. Hywela Lyn says:

    Great post and excellent advice. We all need to remember cherished childhood summers!

  27. LisaC says:

    How about Put the lime in the coconut..

  28. drmgrl99 says:

    great post and I think I could come up with a soundtrack to ever summer since I was a teenager. Hubs and I both pit together Summer CDs or mp3 files since we were kids we love it and makes our parties fun.
    drmgrl99atyahoodotcom

  29. Liz Semkiu says:

    Enjoyed your post very much. Thanks for the contest.

  30. Kazoua Her says:

    This is a lovely blog

    kazouaher12@hotmail.com

  31. Kyndra Hatch says:

    I am from the Gulf Coast too. Those days at the beach were fantastic. Summers nowadays tend to pass me by and next thing I know it’s winter. I will try to find time to enjoy some summer days this year. Thank you:)

Leave a Reply

